The focus of FuLIBatteR is on closing the gap in material cycles with special emphasis on recovering critical raw materials (CRMs) from the lithium ion battery (LIB) active material (also called black matter) coming from different LIB types (automotive, stationary, and portables).

Current battery recycling processes are mainly focused on mechanical treatment to separate the housing, cables, and other bulky components. The largest weight fraction of LIB systems after mechanical processing, the fine-grained active material (up to 70 wt.-% of the battery mass) contains the critical elements lithium, phosphorus, cobalt, silicon, and graphite as well as other economically important metals, such as copper, nickel and manganese in different concentrations. At present, some of the mentioned elements are not selectively recovered ending up in flue gas or slag fraction after a pyrometallurgical treatment or dissolved in the wastewater of hydro-metallurgical processes.

Moreover, to meet the European climate targets, low emission transport vehicles are supported using tax advantages leading to significantly rising numbers of electric cars. Furthermore, the considerable e-bike boom all over Europe and the required storage capacities for renewable energy cause steadily growing LIB demands. These trends will inevitably imply larger amounts of used and waste LIBs that must be recycled.

The tremendous variation in LIB waste streams and increasing life cycle of battery products due to sustainability requirements cause high uncertainty regarding the amount and time horizon of available LIBs for material recycling. Thus, it is the right time to search for and develop a recycling strategy for marketed LIB cell systems, including rather new electrode materials. The creation of a recycling process independent on waste LIB input fluctuations is the target to avoid the loss of valuable critical secondary raw materials.

The topic of closing material cycles within the battery recycling chain is of high relevance for society, industry, and economy. FuLIBatteR reduces the dependency on the global raw material market by supporting Austria and the European Union to stay competitive and to maintain a high level of employment. FuLIBatteR will also avoid that LIB systems produce end-of-life wastes to be landfilled by utilising the disciplines waste management, process engineering, metallurgy, and biotechnology.

Diverse approaches will be tested within the module focusing on mechanical, pyrometallurgical and bio-hydrometallurgical steps going beyond the state-of-the-art. The expected high-quality output fractions will serve as secondary raw materials again for the battery production or also for other industrial sectors. Especially, the steel and the refractory sectors can gain benefit of the generated secondary raw materials. The metal alloy can serve as additive for special steels, the graphite can be used as additive for magnesia-carbon refractories. The collaboration with LIB cell applying companies, such as in the automotive industry, closes the material loop and guarantees research on the track.

Project 1

Waste management and waste technological approaches for LIB recycling

linkproject1

Project 2

Pyrometallurgical processing of LIBs and black matter

linkproject2

Project 3

Bio-hydrometallurgical treatment of LIB residues

linkproject3

Framework

COMET Module Programme of FFG only for existing COMET K1 Centres

 

Financing EUR p.a. % of budget
Public fundings by Federal Ministries 500,000 53.33
Public fundings by Upper Austria and Styria 250,000 26.67
Contribution of the Scientific Partners 46,875 5.00
Contribution of the Company Partners 140,625 15.00
Total 937,500 100.00

 

Project Period

01/07/2022–30/06/2026

Funding

Supported by

Der Fokus von FuLIBatteR liegt auf dem Schließen von Materialkreisläufen mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der Rückgewinnung kritischer Rohstoffe (CRM) aus dem Aktivmaterial (auch Schwarzmasse genannt) von Lithiumionenbatterien (LIB) unterschiedlicher Anwendungsbereiche (Automobil, stationäre und portable Speichermedien).

Aktuelle Batterierecyclingprozesse konzentrieren sich hauptsächlich auf die mechanische Aufbereitung, um Gehäuse, Kabel und andere grobe Komponenten abzutrennen. Der größte Massenanteil von LIB nach der Aufbereitung, das feinkörnige Aktivmaterial (bis zu 70 Gew.-% der Batteriemasse) enthält die kritischen Elemente Lithium, Phosphor, Kobalt, Silizium und Graphit als auch andere wirtschaftlich bedeutende Metalle, wie Kupfer, Nickel und Mangan in variierenden Konzentrationen. Momentan werden viele der genannten Elemente nicht selektiv zurückgewonnen und enden im Abgas oder der Schlackenfraktion nach pyrometallurgischer Behandlung oder gelöst im Abwasser nach hydrometallurgischen Prozessen.

Darüber hinaus werden zur Erreichung der europäischen Klimaziele Transportmittel mit geringen Emissionen durch Steuervorteile unterstützt, was zu signifikant ansteigenden Zahlen bei den Elektroautoverkäufen führt. Des Weiteren bedingen der beträchtliche E-Bikeboom in ganz Europa sowie die nötigen Speicherkapazitäten für erneuerbare Energieformen einen stetig wachsenden Bedarf an LIB. Diese Trends werden zwangsläufig ansteigende Mengen an gebrauchten und verbrauchten LIB für das Recycling verursachen.

Die enorme Variation im LIB-Abfallstrom und ansteigende Lebensdauer der Batterieprodukte aufgrund von Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen bringen eine große Unsicherheit im Bezug auf die Stoffstrommengen und den Zeithorizont zur Erhaltung derselben mit sich. Demnach handelt es sich um den richtigen Zeitpunkt, um an neuen Recyclingstrategien für vermarktete LIB-Zellsysteme samt neuartiger Elektrodenmaterialien zu forschen und diese zu entwickeln. Die Einführung von Recyclingprozessen, welche von Schwankungen im LIB-Inputstrom unabhängig sind, gelten als Ziel zur Vermeidung von Verlusten an wertvollen kritischen Sekundärrohstoffen.

Die Thematik des Schließens von Materialkreisläufen in der Batterierecyclingkette ist von großer Bedeutung für Gesellschaft, Industrie und Wirtschaft. FuLIBatteR reduziert die Abhängigkeit von globalen Rohstoffmärkten und unterstützt dadurch Österreich und Europa dabei, konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben und ein hohes Level an Beschäftigung zu halten. FuLIBatteR sorgt durch Kombination der Disziplinen Abfallwirtschaft, Verfahrenstechnik, Metallurgie und Biotechnologie auch dafür, dass LIB keine zu deponierenden Abfallstoffe am Lebensende produzieren.

Diverse Ansätze fokussiert auf mechanische, pyro- und hydrometallurgische Schritte werden getestet, um über den Stand der Technik hinauszugehen. Die Outputfraktionen mit erwartet hoher Qualität sollen als Sekundärrohstoffe neuerlich für die Batterieproduktion oder auch für andere Industriesektoren, wie den Stahl- und Feuerfestindustrien, dienen. Beispielsweise lassen sich die generierte Metalllegierung als Zusatz für Spezialstähle oder auch der Graphit als Additiv zur Magnesia-Karbonstein-Herstellung nutzen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit LIB-anwendenden Firmen z.B. in der Automobilbranche schließt die Materialkreisläufe und garantiert Forschung auf der richtigen Spur.

Hier finden Sie einen kompakten Überblick zum Programm des Moduls:

Projekt 1

Abfallwirtschaft und abfalltechnische Ansätze für das LIB-Recycling

linkprojekt1

Projekt 2

Pyrometallurgische Verarbeitung von LIB und Schwarzmasse

linkprojekt2

Projekt 3

Biohydrometallurgische Behandlung von LIB Reststoffen

linkprojekt3

Rahmenbedingungen

COMET-Modulprogramm der FFG für bestehende COMET-K1-Zentren

Finanzierung EUR p.a. % des Budgets
Bundesfördermittel 500.000 53,33
Landesförderungen von Oberösterreich und Steiermark 250.000 26,67
Beteiligungen der wissenschaftlichen Partner 46.875 5,00
Beteiligungen der Industriepartner 140.625 15,00
Summe 937.500 100,00

 

Projektzeitraum

01/07/2022–30/06/2026

Förderung

Unterstützt durch