The K1-MET metallurgical competence center hosts a research programme with four main themes, named areas. The focus of Area 1 are raw materials and recycling solutions and Area 2 contains projects on metallurgical core processes. Area 3 is in accordance with one of the main objectives of K1-MET: Decarbonization of the steel industry with the main aspects hydrogen-based steelmaking, energy efficiency and reduction of specific CO2 emission. Finally, in Area 4, knowledge from the other areas are combined and consolidated into simulation tools.

K1-MET is one of the Austrian
COMET-K1 competence centres.

Here you will find a compact overview of the programme, funding structure and much more:

Factsheet COMET  (german language)

Factsheet K1-MET

Click here for our success stories.


Contact: 
If you have any questions about our current research programme, sub-projects or funding opportunities, please contact us by e-mail at: office[at]k1-met.com

Follow us on LinkedIn

Area 1

Raw Materials and Recycling

linkarea1

Area 2

Metallurgical Processes

linkarea2

Area 3

Low Carbon Energy Systems

linkarea3

Area 4

Simulation and Analyses

linkarea4

Objectives & motivation

K1-MET is a competence center for Exellent Technologies in Advanced Metallurgical and Environmental Process Development and is driven by the Austrian steel industry. The K1-MET metallurgical competence center is alligned with the strategic goals defined by the European Commission in the EU 2020 strategy. K1-MET is essential to the continuation of the prolonged successful track record of the Austrian steel and processing industry, to make it more competitive, sustainable, and lead to economic growth. At the core of this vision three main goals are identified:

  • CO2 efficient production of metals and intermediate components
  • Cross-sectional approach to radically improved production proceses
  • Leadership in solutions for more efficient processing and energy systems

Unique Selling Proposition

Competence center for metallurgy

K1-MET is a COMET Centre within the COMET – Competence Centers for Excellent Technologies Programme and funded by BMK, BMDW, the provinces, Upper Austria, Styria, and Tyrol as well as the the Styrian Business Promotion Agency (SFG) and the Standortagentur Tyrol. Furthermore, we thank Upper Austrian Research GmbH for the continuous support. The COMET Programme is managed by FFG.

Das K1-MET metallurgische Kompetenzzentrum beherbergt ein Forschungsprogramm mit vier Hauptthemen (Areas). Im Schwerpunkt der Area 1 liegen Themen betreffend Ressourcen und Recycling. Area 2 enthält Projekte für metallurgische Kernprozesse. Area 3 ist auf eines der Hauptziele der K1-MET ausgerichtet: Die Dekarbonisierung der Stahlerzeugung mit den Schwerpunkten wasserstoffbasierte Stahlerzeugung, Energieeffizienz und Reduktion der spezifischen CO2-Emissionen. Schließlich werden Erkenntnisse in Area 4 aus den anderen Bereichen kombiniert und in Simulationstools konsolidiert.

Die K1-MET GmbH zählt zu den österreichischen
COMET-K1-Kompetenzzentren.
 

Hier finden Sie einen kompakten Überblick über Programm, Förderstruktur und vieles mehr:

Factsheet COMET

Factsheet K1-MET

Hier gelangen Sie zu unseren Erfolgsgeschichten.


Kontakt: 
Bei Fragen zu unserem aktuellen Forschungsprogramm, zu Teilprojekten oder Fördermöglichkeiten kontaktieren Sie uns bitte per E-Mail unter: office[at]k1-met.com

Folgen Sie uns auf LinkedIn

Area 1

Raw Materials and Recycling

linkarea1

Area 2

Metallurgical Processes

linkarea2

Area 3

Low Carbon Energy Systems

linkarea3

Area 4

Simulation and Analyses

linkarea4

Ziele & Motivation

K1-MET ist das unternehmensübergreifende Kompetenzzentrum für metallurgische und umwelttechnische Verfahrensentwicklungen und wird von der österreichischen Stahlindustrie betrieben. Das K1-MET metallurgische Kompetenzzentrum ist auf die strategischen Ziele, die von der Europäischen Kommission in der EU-2020-Strategie definiert sind, ausgerichtet. K1-MET ist wesentlich für die Fortsetzung der längeren Erfolgsgeschichte der österreichischen Stahl- und Verarbeitungsindustrie, um sie wettbewerbsfähiger und nachhaltiger zu machen und dass sie zu Wirtschaftswachstum führt. Im Kern dieser Vision sind drei Hauptziele identifiziert:

  • CO2-effiziente Produktion von Metallen und Zwischenkomponenten
  • Prozessanalyse und Modellierung
  • Energetische Integration von Wärme- und Produktionsprozessen

Unique Selling Proposition

Kompetenzzentrum für Metallurgie

Unterstützer

Das COMET-Zentrum K1-MET GmbH wird im Rahmen von COMET - Competence Centers for Excellent Technologies durch BMK, BMDW, die Bundesländer Oberösterreich, Steiermark und Tirol sowie der steirischen Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft m.b.H. und der Standortagentur Tirol gefördert. Außerdem danken wir der Upper Austrian Research GmbH für die Unterstützung. Das Programm COMET wird durch die FFG abgewickelt.